Bank holidays Norway


Looking to plan a break or trip in Norway for the public holidays? We have listed all the bank holidays Norway has in 2019 and 2020 plus, the school holidays Norway has coming up in the same period.

Bank holidays Norway 2019

1 January 2019 Tuesday New Years Day
18 April 2019 Thursday Maundy Thursday
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday
21 April 2019 Sunday Easter Sunday
22 April 2019 Monday Easter Monday
1 May 2019 Wednesday Labour Day
17 May 2019 Friday Constitution Day
30 May 2019 Thursday Ascension Day
9 June 2019 Sunday Whit Sunday
10 June 2019 Monday Whit Monday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas Day
26 December 2019 Thursday 2nd day of Christmas


Bank holidays Norway 2020

1 January 2020 Wednesday New Years Day
9 April 2020 Thursday Maundy Thursday
10 April 2020 Friday Good Friday
12 April 2020 Sunday Easter Sunday
13 April 2020 Monday Easter Monday
1 May 2020 Friday Labour Day
17 May 2020 Sunday Constitution Day
21 May 2020 Thursday Ascension Day
31 May 2020 Sunday Whit Sunday
1 June 2020 Monday Whit Monday
25 December 2020 Friday Christmas Day
26 December 2020 Saturday 2nd day of Christmas

School holidays Norway 2019

Easter holiday 15 April to 22 April weeks 16 to 17
Summer holiday 18 June to 19 August weeks 25 to 34


It is worth noting there is some regional variance in the start and end dates and it is a good idea to check the local start dates. Check back here for 2020 dates on the school holidays Norway when they are released.

Easter Holidays Norway

Easter School holidays, Norway – April 15 to April 22 2019

With the Easter holidays in Norway running from 15 to 22 April, there is a good two week break when you can take a holiday.  Easter is a favourite time for the Norwegians.  They love making the most of the last of the snow and the longer, lighter days.

Summer school holidays Norway

Summer school holidays, Norway – mid June – mid August 2019

(dates vary depending on region and school system)

Summer is a fantastic time to visit Norway with the stunning scenery and idyllic surroundings! Why not consider traveling to Norway and staying in a traditional Norwegian summer house? Not only is Norway super child friendly and a generally safe country for travel, but there are a myriad of activities to explore including hiking, fishing, photography, swimming as well as the perfect location for complete relaxation. Check out Visit Norway's ideas for a fun and energetic holiday in Norway!

Winter school holidays Norway

Winter school holidays, Norway

Why would you want to spend the winter season anywhere else?! Norway is the perfect place for anyone who wants an active, snowy, winter wonderland holiday jam-packed with activities including miles of cross country trails, alpine skiing/snowboarding, fun activities and so much more. Just don’t forget to bring the essentials!

Check back here to get up to date information for bank holidays in Norway when planning your travels.

If you are looking to find the perfect cabin in Norway for your trip, the team at Norgesbooking are proud to offer over 350 cabins across the country. You can research cabins to stay in by activity by using the filters on our website, so whether you are looking to do hiking, fishing, or just want some sun and sea – you can search easily from on our cabins page.

Have any questions and need more info? Get in touch with us today!